Tags

Compelled with a passion for the medical field, primarily ultrasound, I chose to create my inquiry project on ultrasound. The basis of my research will be the different varieties of ultrasound and other tests available to us and the gold standard vs the platinum standard of medical testing.

FlashcardsEbay

I will admit that as a vascular ultrasound sonographer some might think that I am only choosing a subject that I am familiar with for an easier project. This is not the case…I chose this topic because of the ignorance and complete misunderstanding people (even medical professionals) have of this field. “Oh, so you scan babies?” or “So you’re an x-ray tech?” are phrases I hear often. People have no clue. Also, while explaining the difference between the several varieties of medical testing and the gold vs platinum standard, it is my intent to generate further awareness for you as a future patient to know more about the test that you may be receiving to give you a greater understanding as to the necessity and purpose of the study.

X-Ray

X-Ray

CT Scanner

CT Scanner

Ultrasound

Ultrasound

 

